صورة محمل

مؤلف

ماريا بيسارا

يسعدنا جدًا أن ننشر تقريرنا البحثي الأول، الذي أجراه مادي سيويل، وهو باحث متدرب سابق. قام البحث بتحليل مدى قبول وفعالية دعمنا النفسي والاجتماعي المجاني الذي قدمه المعالجون المتطوعين لدينا للمهاجرين واللاجئين، وخاصة أولئك الذين يشكلون أيضًا جزءًا من المجتمع الدولي. برنامج MigraCode برشلونة ل المركز الثقافي المفتوح (OCC).

تصميم البحث

بالنسبة لهذا البحث، تم إجراء مقابلات شبه منظمة في برشلونة للتحقيق في تجارب المشاركين في تلقي وتقديم برنامج للصحة العقلية إلى جانب برنامج MigraCode، وهو مدرسة برمجة مجانية للاجئين والمهاجرين بهدف استخدام التعليم الفني المجاني لمساعدتهم في العثور على مستويات عالية من التعليم. - وظائف ذات جودة . تكونت العينة من تسعة أفراد من ذوي الخلفية المهاجرة الذين كانوا إما مسجلين بنشاط في MigraCode Barcelona، أو كانوا من خريجي البرنامج.

اتبعت المقابلات عملية مكونة من جزأين، في البداية إنشاء اتصال والتعرف على خلفية المشارك ثم طرح سبعة أسئلة تركز على جدوى ومقبولية الدعم النفسي الاجتماعي لـ Iguality. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شارك اثنان من المعالجين في تقديم إجابات مفصلة حول تجاربهم كمتطوعين.

مع قول بعض المستخدمين "لقد كان أحد الأشياء التي غيرت حياتي" (1008)، ومع قول المعالجين "لقد رأيت التأثير" (2002) و"أعتقد أنه مفيد جدًا" (2001).

اتبعت المقابلات عملية مكونة من جزأين، في البداية إنشاء اتصال والتعرف على خلفية المشارك ثم طرح سبعة أسئلة تركز على جدوى ومقبولية الدعم النفسي الاجتماعي لـ Iguality. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شارك اثنان من المعالجين في تقديم إجابات مفصلة حول تجاربهم كمتطوعين.

تقدم MigraCode Barcelona التعليم الفني المجاني للمهاجرين واللاجئين من خلال مجتمع تطوعي كبير من قطاع التكنولوجيا | الصورة بواسطة MigraCode برشلونة / المركز الثقافي المفتوح

النتائج الرئيسية

وجدت النتائج أن دعم Iguality تم قبوله بقدر كبير من القبول والفعالية لكل من المعالجين والمستخدمين. أيضًا، كان لدى جميع المستخدمين فهم مماثل لعلم النفس وكان المعالجان متماسكين بشأن محتوى جلسات الدعم وكيفية دعمهم للمشاركين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ذكر جميع المشاركين أنهم شعروا بالأمان في Iguality وMigraCode وفي جلسات دعم الصحة العقلية. من المهم الإشارة إلى أن العديد من المشاركين أقروا بالوصمة المرتبطة بالصحة العقلية في حياتهم، ولكنها أيضًا لم تؤثر بشكل كبير على قرارهم بطلب الدعم في مجال الصحة العقلية، معبرين عن مواقف إيجابية حيال ذلك.

علاوة على ذلك، ذكر المعالجون أن بعض أفضل أجزاء العمل التطوعي في البرنامج كانت التنمية الشخصية والاستمتاع، في حين أفاد جميع المشاركين أنهم يجدون البرنامج مهمًا، مما يكشف عن الضغوطات الشائعة التي تؤثر على طلاب MigraCode والمهاجرين بشكل عام، بما في ذلك عدم الاستقرار، والاندماج الاجتماعي، التوظيف، وحالة الهجرة، واضطرابات التكيف، والقلق والاكتئاب. ذكر كل من المستخدمين والمعالجين أن الجلسات كانت مرنة وقابلة للتكيف من حيث الموقع والتوقيت، وأن إمكانية الوصول المالي (أي كون الدعم مجانيًا) كانت موضع تقدير من قبل مستخدمي الدعم.

يقدم Iguality العلاج الأسبوعي للأشخاص الذين لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى رعاية الصحة العقلية العامة أو الخاصة | الصورة من مخزون الصور Canva

خاتمة

بشكل عام، رأى كل من المعالجين والمستخدمين أن جلسات دعم الصحة العقلية فعالة، حيث قال بعض المستخدمين "لقد كانت واحدة من الأشياء التي غيرت حياتي" (1008)، وقال المعالجون "لقد رأيت التأثير" (2002). و"أعتقد أنه مفيد جدًا" (2001). أفاد المستخدمون أن الدعم كان فعالاً لضغوطات الحياة اليومية والثقة، وتعزيز الاستقرار والأمن ومناقشة الترابط والعلاقات الاجتماعية (على سبيل المثال، تعلم مهارات التنظيم ووضع الحدود).

نحن سعداء جدًا لأن نتائج البحث تظهر أهمية وفعالية عملنا، وأهمية التعاون مع المنظمات الكبرى الأخرى مثل المركز الثقافي المفتوح. سوف نستخدم عمل مادي لتوسيع نطاق أنشطتنا وتحسين دعمنا لمجموعاتنا المستهدفة.

لقراءة تقرير البحث كاملاً، يمكنك الوصول إلى ملف PDF من خلال الزر أدناه.

هذا المقال كتبه ماريا بيسارا

ماريا هي متدربة في علم النفس لدينا وتقدم الاستشارة من خلال Iguality، بينما تعمل على رفع مستوى الوعي والركائز المهمة الأخرى لمنظمتنا.

loader image

We are very happy to publish our first research report, carried out by Maddy Sewel, a former research intern. The research analysed the acceptability and effectiveness of our cost-free psychosocial support made possible by our volunteer therapists to migrants and refugees, specifically those who are also part of the MigraCode Barcelona program of Open Cultural Center (OCC).

The research design

For this research, semi-structured interviews were conducted in Barcelona to investigate participant’s experiences of receiving and delivering a mental health program alongside the MigraCode program, a free coding school for refugees and migrants with the goal of using free technical education to help them find high-quality jobs. The sample consisted of nine individuals with a migration background that were either actively enrolled in MigraCode Barcelona, or were graduates of the program.

The interviews followed a two-part process, initially establishing a connection and learning about the participant’s background and then asking seven questions focussing on the feasibility and acceptability of the psychosocial support of Iguality. In addition, two therapists participated providing detailed responses about their experiences as volunteers.

With some users stating “it was one of the things that changed my life” (1008), and with therapists stating “I have seen the impact” (2002) and “I think it’s very helpful” (2001).

The interviews followed a two-part process, initially establishing a connection and learning about the participant’s background and then asking seven questions focussing on the feasibility and acceptability of the psychosocial support of Iguality. In addition, two therapists participated providing detailed responses about their experiences as volunteers.

MigraCode Barcelona offers free technical education to migrants and refugees through a large volunter community from the tech sector | Picture by MigraCode Barcelona / Open Cultural Center

The key results

The results found that the support of Iguality was received with much acceptability and effective for both therapists and users. Also, all users had similar understandings of psychology and the two therapists were coherent on the content of the support sessions and how they support participants. Additionally, all participants stated they felt safe at Iguality and MigraCode and in the mental health support sessions. Important to point out is that many participants acknowledged the stigma associated with mental health in their lives, but also that it didn’t significantly influence their decision to seek mental health support, expressing positive attitudes about it.

Moreover, the therapists mentioned that some of the best parts of volunteering with the program were personal development and enjoyment, while all participants reported that they find the program important, revealing common stressors impacting MigraCode students and migrants in general, including instability, social integration, employment, immigration status, adjustment disorders, anxiety and depression. Both users and therapists stated that the sessions were flexible and adaptable in terms of location and timing, and that the financial accessibility (i.e. the support being cost-free) was appreciated by users of the support.

Iguality offers weekly therapy to people who do not have access to public or private mental health care | Picture from Canva stock pictures

Conclusion

Overall, both therapists and users perceived the mental health support sessions to be effective, with some users stating “it was one of the things that changed my life” (1008), and with therapists stating “I have seen the impact” (2002) and “I think it’s very helpful” (2001). Users reported that the support was effective for daily life stressors and confidence, promoting stability and security and for discussing social connectedness and relationships (e.g., learning organisation skills and setting boundaries).

We are very happy that the research results show the importance and effectiveness of our work, and the relevance of collaborating with other great organisations like Open Cultural Center. We will utilise Maddy’s work to further scale our activities and improve our support to our target groups.

To read the full research report, you can access the PDF through the button below.

Post on Iguality

About the author

Maria Pissarra
Maria is our psychology intern and offers counselling through Iguality, while working on awareness raising and other important pillars of our organisation.

Follow us